Skip Navigation

Joseph Cofrancesco, Jr

Cofrancesco.JosephJOSEPH COFRANCESCO, JR is an Associate Professor of Medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, and the Director of Johns Hopkins Institute for Excellence in Education (IEE) Professor of Medicine. He also helped to create and serves as the Director of the Johns Hopkins General Internal Medicine Clinician Educators Mentoring and Scholarship Program. He maintains a thriving general internal medicine practice and also provides care to individuals living with HIV infection. Dr. Cofrancesco has published and lectured extensively on HIV care, issues related to clinician-educators in academic medicine, and educational techniques, including presentations in Japan, Abu Dhabi, and Brazil. He remains active in teaching and mentoring students, residents, fellows, and peers.

Dr. Cofrancesco received his bachelor’s degree from Columbia College of Columbia University, worked for a time in international educational administration, and then received his medical degree with honors from the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York. He trained in internal medicine and medicine/primary care at the Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center and the Albert Einstein Medical Center of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, where he also served as the inaugural chief resident for primary care. He later received his MPH with honors from the Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health, what is now the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, along with completing his General Internal Medical fellowship training at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. He has been on faculty at Johns Hopkins since 1997.

Dr. Cofrancesco has won many education awards, starting in residency, including the Leo M. Davidoff Society Certificate of Distinction Albert Einstein College of Medicine (1990), Johns Hopkins Department of Medicine Ambulatory Preceptor Award (2005), the National Award for Mid-Career Education Mentorship Society of General Internal Medicine (2010), the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Professors’ Award (2012) and the Johns Hopkins Osler Housestaff Appreciation Award (2014). He has held leadership positions in the Society of General Internal Medicine. He served as the inaugural steering committee chair for the national Academies Collaborative (2011-13).

His passions remain clinical medicine, teaching and education, and fostering a culture that deeply values medical education.