Skip Navigation

Scott L. Zeger

SCOTT L. ZEGER, Ph.D., is the John C. Malone Professor of Biostatistics at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and a Professor of Medicine at the School of Medicine. From 2008-2013, he was Vice Provost for Research to represent the university in all matters related to the research and scholarship of its faculty and students. In 2009, Dr. Zeger was interim Provost of the University. From 2012-2016, Dr. Zeger was the inaugural director of Hopkins inHealth, a signature initiative of the Johns Hopkins University, Health System and Applied Physics Laboratory to bring modern biological and data sciences to the practice of American medicine and public health.

Professor Zeger is author or co-author of 3 books and more than 200 scientific articles. Science Watch identified Dr. Zeger as one the 25 most cited mathematical scientists. He conducts statistical research on regression analysis for correlated responses as occur in surveys, time series, longitudinal or genetics studies. He has made substantive contributions to our understanding of the health effects of smoking and air pollution, infectious diseases in children, and other topics.

Professor Zeger has served as expert witness to the U.S. Department of Justice and several states in their civil suits against the tobacco industry and as a member of the Board of Scientific Advisors for the Merck Research Laboratory. He is a member of the Springer-Verlag editorial board for statistics and was the founding co-editor of the Oxford University Press journal Biostatistics.  Dr. Zeger has been awarded an honorary doctorate from Lancaster University in England, elected Member of the National Academy of Sciences’ Institute of Medicine, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and of the American Statistical Association. He and colleague Kung-Yee Liang were jointly awarded the 2015 Karl Pearson Prize by the International Statistical Institute. The Bloomberg School Student Assembly has awarded Dr. Zeger with Golden Apples for excellence in teaching.  In 2018, he was the inaugural recipient of the Bloomberg School’s Faculty Mentoring Award.