Skip Navigation
Return to All Schools

Morton K. Blaustein Professorship and Chairmanship in Earth and Planetary Sciences

Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Established in 1994 by the Jacob and Hilda Blaustein Foundation in memory of Morton K. Blaustein

BlausteinMortonMORTON K. BLAUSTEIN, A&S 1950, one of Baltimore’s most active civic leaders and philanthropists, was a longtime university trustee and the chairman and chief executive officer of the American Trading and Production Corporation. He held a doctorate in petroleum geology and was appointed to the National Petroleum Council by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior. The Alumni Association presented Dr. Blaustein with its Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1976. The Morton K. Blaustein Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences is also named in memory of Dr. Blaustein, who died in 1990 at the age of 64. He also created, with others, the Chair in Music History and Criticism at the Peabody Conservatory.

Held by Sabine Stanley

The research of SABINE STANLEY, Ph.D., involves understanding planetary interior processes and evolution. She focuses on planetary magnetic fields, dynamo theory, interior structure models and other geophysical methods to learn about the deep interiors of planets. Her work includes projects on many solar system bodies (Mercury, Moon, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, asteroids and planetesimals) as well as extrasolar planets. She uses a combination of numerical simulations, theory and comparison to observations from various missions to explore her science questions.