Skip Navigation
Return to All Schools

Charles A. Miller Jr. Distinguished Professorship in Mechanical Engineering

Whiting School of Engineering

Established in 1994 by Charles A. Miller, Jr. '40

CHARLES A. MILLER, JR., A&S ’40, joined the Navy after graduating from Johns Hopkins University and rose to the rank of commander. On his return to his native Baltimore following World War II, Mr. Miller co-founded, in succession, three successful companies: Industrial Products, primarily a distributor of filter products for cars and industrial applications; Filterite, a manufacturer of industrial filters later bought by Brunswick, Inc.; and the Bank of Maryland Corporation. Prior to endowing this professorship, he and his wife, LOIS MILLER, funded the Charles A. Miller, Jr. Undergraduate Laboratory for Mechanical Engineering, located in Latrobe Hall. He was honored by the university Alumni Association with the Heritage Award in 1994 and the Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2000. Mr. Miller passed away in 2009. 


Held by Gretar Tryggvason

GRETAR TRYGGVASON, Ph.D., is the Charles A. Miller, Jr. Distinguished Professor and Head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering. 

Professor Tryggvason came to the Whiting School of Engineering from the University of Notre Dame, where he was the Viola D. Hank Professor and chair of the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. He is widely recognized for his contributions to computational fluid dynamics, including the development of methods for computations of multiphase flows, as well as pioneering direct numerical simulations of such flows. 

He has served as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Computational Physics (2002-2015) and is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He has received several recognitions, including the 2012 ASME Fluids Engineering Award.