Skip Navigation
Return to All Schools

Dr. Mary Betty Stevens Professorship in Rheumatology

School of Medicine

Established in 1989 by colleagues, friends, and patients of Mary Betty Stevens in her honor

StevensMaryBettyMARY BETTY STEVENS, Med 1955, known to many as “Marty,” trained at Hopkins and joined the faculty in 1960. She went on to become director of the Division of Rheumatology–the first woman appointed to head a Hopkins medicine division–and also director of rheumatology at Good Samaritan Hospital. Known as one of the world’s foremost authorities on arthritis, Dr. Stevens directed the Arthritis Center at Hopkins. She also developed the Hopkins-Good Samaritan Rheumatic Disease Unit, which became renowned for clinical research on lupus and vasculitis. Widely admired as a devoted physician, a masterful clinician, and an inspirational teacher, Dr. Stevens attracted hundreds of medical students, residents, and fellows to study at her side.

In 1991, three years before her death, she received the Distinguished Rheumatologist Award from the American College of Rheumatology. The recipient of many other awards and honors, Dr. Stevens particularly cherished the George J. Stuart Award she was given in 1971 for excellence in clinical teaching. In addition to this professorship, the Mary Betty Stevens Rheumatology Fellowship and the Mary Betty Stevens Lectureship also honor her memory.

Held by Antony Rosen

Male, Man

ANTONY ROSEN, the Dr. Mary Betty Stevens Professor of Rheumatology and professor of medicine and director of the Division of Rheumatology, has played an important role in the establishment of a synergistic and collaborative translational research program in rheumatology. Dr. Rosen’s work has provided significant understanding of the mechanisms of the autoimmune rheumatic diseases, particularly lupus, scleroderma, and autoimmune myositis. He is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, has been recognized as Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences, received the Henry Kunkel Young Investigator award from the American College of Rheumatology, and is a recipient of a Burroughs Wellcome Fund Translational Research Award.