Skip Navigation
Return to All Schools

J.J. Sylvester Chair in Mathematics

Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Established in 1986 by the University in memory of J.J. Sylvester

SylvesterJamesAs the Hopkins trustees debated their first steps in establishing a world-class university, President Daniel Coit Gilman commented: “Enlist a great mathematician and a distinguished Grecian. Your problem will be solved.” JAMES JOSEPH SYLVESTER, one of the foremost of British mathematicians and author of the groundbreaking theory of invariants, was soon recruited, joining Professor of Greek Basil L. Gildersleeve. While he stayed at Hopkins only seven years, Professor Sylvester had a profound effect on academia in America, having introduced the study of the higher branches of pure mathematics.


Held by Christopher Sogge

SoggeChristopherCHRISTOPHER SOGGE joined the faculty of the Department of Mathematics in 1996, where he was chair from 2002 to 2005. He has received numerous awards including a National Science Foundation Post-doctoral Fellowship and a Sloan Fellowship. He was named both a Guggenheim and a Simons Fellow. He also earned the distinction of JHU Professor of the Year in 2014. He is currently Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Mathematics.