Skip Navigation
Return to All Schools

R. Champlin and Debbie Sheridan Directorship of the Milton S. Eisenhower Library

Sheridan Libraries & University Museums

Established in 1990 by R. Champlin and Debbie Sheridan

SheridanChampDebbieR. CHAMPLIN SHERIDAN, A&S 1952, and his wife, DEBBIE SHERIDAN, played a unique and indispensable role in enabling the university to fulfill founding president Daniel Coit Gilman’s belief that “There is no such thing as a great university apart from a great library.” Mrs. Sheridan is a member of the Sheridan Libraries Advisory Board. Mr. Sheridan was university trustee emeritus and chaired the National Advisory Council from 1990 to 2001. He founded the Sheridan Group in 1967, now one of the nation’s leading scientific and medical publishers.

In 1994, the Sheridans made an extraordinary leadership gift to ensure the vitality of the libraries by increasing the endowment and supporting much-needed renovations. Mr. Sheridan remarked that the library, “the foundation of the university,” was a natural focus for their philanthropy because of his success in printing and publishing. To honor the exceptional generosity of Mr. and Mrs. Sheridan, the Eisenhower Library and its special collections at the John Work Garrett Library, the Albert D. Hutzler Reading Room, and the George Peabody Library were rededicated as the Sheridan Libraries in 1998. Upon opening in 2012, the Brody Learning Commons was added to the family of Sheridan Libraries. Mr. Sheridan died in 2013.


Held by Winston Tabb

TabbWinstonWINSTON TABB, Sheridan Dean of the University Libraries, Archives and Museums, is also the director of the Milton S. Eisenhower Library. In this role Dean Tabb oversees library services in the five Sheridan libraries and coordinates library services provided by all schools of the university as chair of the Library Directors Council (LDC). He also directs Johns Hopkins’ two historic house museums, Homewood Museum and Evergreen Museum & Library. Tabb served as Hopkins’ first Vice Provost for the Arts, and continues as the dean overseeing the University’s extensive collection of art and other cultural properties.

Prior to becoming dean at Johns Hopkins, Mr. Tabb served at the Library of Congress for 30 years, the last 13 as Deputy Librarian and Associate Librarian of Congress for Library Services.

Mr. Tabb has long been active in national and international library activities. He was nominated by President Obama to serve on the National Museum and Library Services Advisory Board, and confirmed by the US Senate in 2010. He served the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA), which he served as Chair of the Professional Committee, Chair of the Committee on Copyright and Other Legal Matters 2003-2011, and is now IFLA’s official representative to the World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) in Geneva. In 2012 Tabb was named an Honorary Fellow of IFLA, the association’s highest honor.

Mr. Tabb is a past President of the Association of Research Libraries and also serves on numerous boards, including the Simmons College Board of Trustees, American Library in Paris Advisory Council, HathiTrust Board of Governors, and Electronic Information for Libraries Management Board. He chairs the board of the Maryland Center for the Book, and served 10 years as a member of the Visiting Committee to the Harvard University Libraries. He has received the two highest awards presented by the American Library Association, the Joseph W. Lippincott Award (2007) and the Melvil Dewey Medal (1996), as well as ALA’s John Ames Humphry Award (2007) for significant contributions to international librarianship and L. Ray Patterson Award (2012) for contributions to U.S. copyright law.