Skip Navigation
Return to All Schools

Edward St. John Professorship in Cardiology

School of Medicine

Established in 2020 by Edward St. John

EDWARD ST. JOHN is the founder and chairman of St. John Properties, one of the nation’s largest and most successful privately-held commercial real estate firms, based in Baltimore, MD. Long recognized for personal and professional accomplishments, in 2018 St. John Properties was named the National Developer of the Year by NAIOP (The Commercial Real Estate Development Association) which is widely considered as the most prestigious award within the industry. Philanthropy is second nature to Mr. St. John — in 1998 he founded the Edward St. John Foundation, with the mission to provide financial assistance to formal education programs. Over the years, more than $65 million have been donated and pledged by the foundation, St. John Properties, and Mr. St. John. In 2014, Mr. St. John began making personal gifts to the Johns Hopkins Division of Cardiology to support the work of Dr. David Spragg and his ongoing efforts to build cross-disciplinary collaborations across Hopkins.


Held by David Douglass Spragg, M.D.

DAVID D. SPRAGG, M.D., is an associate professor of medicine in the Division of Cardiology, specializing in electrophysiology. He serves as the director of the Atrial Fibrillation Research Program at Johns Hopkins Hospital and is the Director of Cardiac Electrophysiology at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. Dr. Spragg’s areas of clinical investigation are cardiac resynchronization therapy and therapies for atrial fibrillation. He has authored over 100 original research publications, including over 15 first and last-author publications.  An active educator and mentor, he has served as the primary research mentor for eight fellows over the last decade, including medical residents, Atrial Fibrillation research fellows, and clinical cardiology fellows. In addition, Dr. Spragg has been a member of the cardiovascular instruction team for the Genes to Society course for second-year medical students at the Johns Hopkins SOM since 2009, serving as both a small-group leader and lecturer each year.